breaking the law..

brukar läsa en blogg av en hockeylirare som är rookie i ett lag som heter Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, farmarlag till mer kända Pittsburgh Penguins. Han skriver om hans första säsong som betalt proffs och om hur det funkar.
Det skka också tilläggas att grabben som även heter Ben Lovejoy tjänar drygt 500,000 dollars på ett år och dollarn står i drygt 6 kronor.....men det blir lite kronor om man skulle missa lite prylar..

mer finns att läsa på http://hockeyroadtrip.blogspot.com/  Nu har han iofs sommarledigt, men ändå...



A little known culture of pro hockey is ‘putting money on the board.' As a rookie, this concept was new to me. Coming from college where you are not paid (unless you played football or basketball) to play hockey, I had never seen this practiced.

In our locker room, there is a large, erasable board, where the coaches usually put pre-game info on the opposing teams. There is also a spot on the board reserved for our fines and ‘money on the board.' This money goes toward team functions, and playing pro hockey you are forced to ‘put money on the board' for almost everything.

You find out who your real friends are when it comes time to put money on the board. Jeff Taffe is notorious for ratting people out if they commit a fineable offense. Thinking about it, everyone from Minnesota likes to make it be known when an offense is committed.

First pro game: $100

First Game as a Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguin: $100

Girlfriend/Fiancé/Wife comes to the game from out of town: $100

Peeing in the Shower: $50

Rookies forgetting movies on the bus: $100

Falling down/Tripping during warm-ups: $50

Late to anything: $100

Defecating in the bathroom on the team bus: $200

Breaking a stick on purpose - (Also known as the Ty Conklin Rule): $100.

Dress code violation: $50

Playing a team you used to play for: $100

Getting sent down from the NHL: Depends how long you were up - but lets leave it at...a lot of money.

Parents come to the Game: $100. This drives me crazy. My parents have been to half the games. It's costing me an arm and a leg. 

300 spänn för o pissa i duschen..





Här beskriver han en vanlig dag i en hockeylirares liv:




5:06am - Wake up and look at my alarm clock. I'm terrified to miss or be late for practice. I have been here for two months and it's still the same. I set three alarms before I go to bed. Being late is a $100 fine, and coach still scares me.

6:45am - Roll over and look at the clock again.

8:10am - 1st alarm goes off.

8:15am - 2nd and 3rd alarms go off.

8:23am - Quick breakfast of oatmeal and fruit smoothie. 20 minutes of breakfast in front of espn.com. Some people read the newspaper, I read espn.com. Religiously.

8:37am - Lanno, my roommate and landlord, walks downstairs. I am giving him a ride to McCarthy Tire to pick up his car. He had to get his winter tires put on his BMW. I wish I had a BMW.

8:42am - Arrive at the rink and quickly change into my workout gear. Workout for 25 minutes. Easy workout today. Just abs. I wish I had nice abs.

9:20am - Our trainer, Patrick Steidle gives me some wrist exercises. Both my wrists were injured in the first game and I've had them both x-rayed and MRI'd. Nothing is broken, but they still really hurt.

10:27am - Practice. As I mentioned earlier, Tuesdays are tough. I need to be ready physically and mentally for these days. Coach Richards loves his tough practices (and execution), but Tuesdays are especially grueling. I am wearing new skates. My feet hurt, but I have a pretty good day. That said, I am notorious for messing up drills. I am a bit of a space man, and just forget to do some things. I only mess up one drill today, so I had a good day.

11:02am- A fight breaks out between two teammates. Tuesday practices are intense.

11:22am - The rookies have to pick up the pucks everyday, so we play a game and the loser has to do it by himself. So far, Goli pretty much always loses. In today's competition, we had to hit the crossbar from the slot. Sniper that I am, it took me a while, but I hit it. Goli never did. I skated off the ice pretty happy with my day.

12:04pm - Leave the rink and drive to The Café. They make a mean ham and cheese panini. I do this everyday, as I'm very much a creature of habit. I find what I like (Hershey bars, Orange Vitamin Water, TV) and get addicted to it. I'm addicted to these sandwiches from The Café.

1:00pm - Walk in and watch and episode of "The Hills" with Lannon. As a house, we watch a lot of MTV and VH1 reality TV.

1:30pm - Goligoski is cooking tonight. Once a week in our house a guy has to cook dinner for everyone else. Lanno does a good job, Wally does a good job, I do a great job, Goli's first try was awful. He made plain, dry, well-done chicken with not quite cooked chopped up potatoes and a pre-made salad, straight from the bag. As a house, we are hoping for a better effort out of him tonight.

2:15-4:15pm - Watch three consecutive episodes of Rescue Me on DVD.

4:26pm - Watch two tivo'd episodes of Two and a Half Men. It's on twice every night on myTV. Lanno's mom says that he reminds her of Charlie Sheen's character in the show. I agree...strongly.

4:28pm - Goli comes in with the biggest pork tenderloin I have ever seen. It may take 3 hours to cook.

5:30pm - PTI. Every night.

6:17pm - Dinner. Pork Tenderloin. Mixed Vegetables. Cheesy rice-a-roni. A much better meal tonight from Goli.

7:07pm - More tivo'd Two and a Half Men.

10pm - Nip/Tuck. Pretty excited.

11:04pm - Set my three alarm clocks. Fifteen minutes of Sports Center. Goodnight Wilkes-Barre fans.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0